About the Title

This isn’t a particularly exciting bit, but I thought it might clarify the title. Sorry if the formatting is off.

 

‘Well,” he responded with a little smirk as he gestured lightly to the building behind me, “guess Pop’s is out of the question?” 

“Yeah, it’s been out of the question for quite a few years now,” I laughed in reply. “I’m surprised you remember.”

“Of course I remember. Why wouldn’t I?” He asked.

“Oh, I don’t know. I imagine you might have tried hard to forget this place.” I smiled up at him, hoping that he wouldn’t think I was being hostile. I wasn’t, as a matter of fact.

“Why would I want to forget?”

“It’s just that-. ” I struggled for a minute. ” I mean there were times when you seemed happy here. But I guess it never felt as though you wanted to belong. When we would talk about the future, you were always arguing passionately the merits of leaving. I remember that you once referred to me as “some kind of Jersey girl.” I laughed again, feeling a sense of pride in the title.

“I didn’t.” He disagreed.

“You did. And you were right, Jake. I know, I’ve always known, that no matter where my travels take me, at heart I will always be some kind of Jersey girl.”

About Nicole

I am the mother of two wonderful children and daring to chase the dream of writing my first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

